Washington DC Trip!

Since living in America, there are a few places I’ve never been.  In fact, there are a lot of places I’ve never been here.  I rarely leave New York because I’m either too busy or I just don’t know where to go and what to do.

Recently however, I’ve been telling Objection about how much I’d like love to go to Washington DC. My grandfather on my fathers side  had been born in DC… My grandfather passed before I was born, but I always wanted to visit the area, see where my roots were.

So, Objection called and told me to pack an overnight bag on Friday afternoon. We had discussed about me staying there for the weekend, so I thought maybe Objection had just decided that I should stay there this weekend.  I call my friend, double checked she would check on Snapple and Snickers (dog and cat) and head out for the taxi Objection had sent for me.

The taxi driver was taking me the opposite direction of where Objection lives and I’m completely confused. I’m starting to wonder if the taxi driver even knows where to go, when we stop at a car rental place with Mr. O waiting.

I’m totally confused because I have no clue what’s going on, and Objection tells me we’re road tripping to Washington DC!

Guys, I’ve never been on a road trip in the USA, and this was so exciting for me. We drove a good 5 hours and 30 mins to Washington DC, and got to make rest stops at fast food restaurants, and go to GAS STATIONS and buy stuff (like in the movies where they have road trips!) We listened to music, chatted, but Mr. O wouldn’t tell me what he had planned when we’d get to D.C.!

Arrived in D.C. around 8 pm or so, and got to our hotel at the Four Seasons, which is such a gorgeous hotel and grabbed some greasy Chinese food to hang out at the hotel with.  We took a shower together, had amazing sex, and watched TV. We walked around a bit at night, but I was honestly far too tired to do anything beyond that.  Went to bed and woke up early!

I LOVE WASHINGTON D.C.  The holocaust museum was my favorite above all, my grandfathers father was Jewish. I cried so much there, for the people who died, for the prejudice so many people faced during that time.  Objection was getting extremely solemn as well.  We probably shouldn’t have started off the day with the Holocaust museum because afterwards we barely spoke for half and hour just trying to even comprehend the magnitude of what had happened.

Okay, moving along before I depress all of you…

We saw the White House, and the Lincoln Memorial, but honestly we didn’t have much time for anything else.  We walked around quite a bit, did some shopping and ate good food, but also saw the area where my grandfather lived. It was incredible! 🙂

Only a day, but it was a really nice one.  We got back an hour a go (and it’s 1pm now).  We could have stayed later, but we didn’t want to feel rushed to come back, and even so, I’m glad I did get to see what I did. It was a nice overnight trip, and I think It’s something I really needed.  So now I’m at Objections, relaxing on his couch while he makes a chicken salad for us.

This week deserves an A.

Leave a Reply

